Meet Our Trustees

View Trustees of Oxford Trust

Dr John Boyle


John Boyle is co-founder and Managing Director of Oxford Computer Consultants. He gained his first degree with Honours in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Nottingham. He was seconded to Cambridge University to work with Professor Alistair MacFarlane on Artificial Intelligence techniques for Control Engineering Design. He was awarded a PhD and the IEEE Control Prize for this research. John started his company in the Oxford Trust’s first incubation centre, known as The Step Centre, in 1989. John became a Trustee in September 2014 and was appointed Chairman on 31st March 2015.

Georgina Ferry

Vice Chairman

Georgina is a science writer, author and broadcaster. In 1998 she published a biography of the Nobel prize-winning scientist Dorothy Hodgkin (Dorothy Hodgkin: A Life), and has since published three other books. Georgina writes mainly about the life sciences, then and now, and also has a particular interest in women in science as well as being fascinated by the lives of scientists and their interactions with the society in which they live. Georgina has been a Trustee since 2009 and become Vice-Chair in 2011. She also sits on the remuneration committee.

Dr Paul Brankin OBE

A former scientist, senior business executive, Non-Executive Director of Oxfordshire Health Authority and Governor of Oxford Brookes University, Paul Brankin was seconded to the DTI in 1994 to assist companies looking to develop business in Japan. His services were rewarded with an OBE the following year, and the experience heralded a complete change of career on Paul’s part when, in 1999, he joined Oxford Executive Coaching. He is an Associate Fellow of Green Templeton College. Paul has been a Trustee of The Oxford Trust since 1995 and was Chairman for 12 years – helping successfully to guide it (and three CEO’s) through many different phases.

Professor Alison Noble

Professor Alison Noble OBE FREng FRS is the University of Oxford Technikos Professor of Biomedical Engineering and an Associate Head of the Mathematical, Physical and Life Sciences Division acting as academic lead of the divisional strategy on corporate partnerships and innovation. She is a European Research Council Advanced Research award holder. Alison is best known for her group’s research on ultrasound image analysis, much of which has involved inter-disciplinary collaborators with clinical partners. Throughout her career she has had an interest in the commercialization of scientific research as a pathway to realizing impact of academic research and she is Chief Technology Officer of Intelligent Ultrasound Ltd, a spin-out from her research laboratory. Alison is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering (2008) and a Fellow of the Royal Society (2017). She is also a Trustee of the Institution of Engineering Technology (IET) and was awarded an OBE for services to science and engineering in 2013. Alison joined the board of Trustees in September 2014.

Professor Alistair Fitt

Professor Alistair Fitt is Vice-Chancellor at Oxford Brookes University. Alistair joined OB in March 2011 from the University of Southampton where he worked for 22 years, latterly as the Head of the School of Mathematics and then Pro Vice-Chancellor, International. He studied at Lincoln College, Oxford, and specialises in industrial applied mathematics research. Alistair’s external involvements include close connections with EPSRC and other funding agencies. He is a long-standing member of the Council of the IMA (Institute of Mathematics and its Applications) and the Executive Secretary of ICIAM, the worldwide organisation for Applied Mathematics. Alistair joined the board of Trustees in September 2014.

Professor William James

William is a virologist with a background in genetics and microbiology. His research interest since the mid-1980s has been largely focused on the AIDS virus, HIV-1: particularly how it replicates in macrophages and how smart nucleic acids can be developed to prevent its replication. He teaches virology to medical students at Oxford University and is a Fellow of Brasenose College. He is also Oxford University’s Pro Vice-Chancellor for Planning and Resource Allocation. William joined the board of Trustees in September 2014.

Megan Morys-Carter

Megan is the Executive Director of the Entrepreneurship Centre at the Said Business School, University of Oxford. Her professional career has spanned a range of sectors including energy, transportation, cryogenics, space, healthcare technologies, medical devices, construction, and property management. Megan has a wealth of experience in innovation ecosystems, strategy, change management and science commercialisation. She is also a Trustee of the Leys Community Development Initiative in Blackbird Leys and sits on the Advisory Board of the angel network Oxford Investment Opportunities Network (OION). Megan joined the board of Trustees in September 2014.

Jonathan Welfare

Jonathan has been a trustee of the Oxford Trust twice: from when it was founded in 1985 until 2005 and 2011 to the present. He has developed a wide range of expertise in the charity sector following a highly successful career in finance. He was previously the Chief Executive of Elizabeth Finn Care, a charity that provides support to a wide range of individuals and families and established Turn2us, now a part of Elizabeth Finn Care, which is an online and helpline charity. In addition, he has served as a Trustee of the Nominet Trust and is Chair of Trustees for Gingerbread – a charity that provides support for single families. Jonathan helped establish the UK’s first electronic zoo in @Bristol and founded the UK’s first online museum in 2008.

Lynne Pebworth

Lynne has a degree in Chemistry, PGCE and Masters in Education Management. She taught chemistry in comprehensive schools from 1980 until 1999 and became department head at John Mason School. She then taught PGCE students at Reading before becoming a full time member of the science advisory team at Oxfordshire County Council’s education department. Since 2010 she has been a full-time consultant in science education and education management. She contributes to courses for teachers for the Oxfordshire Teaching Schools Alliance. Lynne joined the board of Trustees in September 2014.

Paul Dean

Paul Dean is an experienced Non-Executive Director and Audit Chair, who currently sits on the Boards of a number of quoted businesses. Earlier in his career, he was Chief Financial Officer of Foseco plc and then Ultra Electronics Holdings plc. Paul is also Treasurer of Beanstalk, the national literacy charity. He has an MA in Modern History from Oxford University and is an FCMA. Paul became a Trustee in January 2016.

Jonathan Flint

Jonathan is former Chief Executive of Oxford Instruments (OI), founded by the Trust’s patrons Sir Martin and Lady Audrey Wood. Jonathan, a physics graduate from Imperial College and Fellow of the Institute of Physics, started work as a systems engineer for the Marconi Company and held a number of senior roles before joining OI in 2005. During his time as CEO (2005 – 2016), OI grew significantly – becoming a leading supplier of high value systems to the physics research community as well as industrial customers.
More recently, Jonathan has worked as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director for Cobham plc. In addition, he has been a member of the Board of the UK National Neutron Source at Harwell and on the economic advisory Board for the UK Science and Technology Facilities Council. He served on the Council of the Institute of Physics from 2009 to 2012 and is currently the President Elect. In 2012, he was awarded a CBE for services to business and science.

Back to Top
Responsive Menu Pro Image Responsive Menu Clicked Image